Structural Analysis

by Collin Sherman

Released January 24, 2015
Released January 24, 2015

A-Levels I begins by layering every note in the A Aeolian scale, one note at a time, spread out over two octaves. Once all notes have been layered, the resulting sound is relatively dissonant. The piece then progresses by changing the filters applied to the total sum every minute. With each change in the filter, the listener becomes adjusted to the dissonance of the sound, and it even appears to grow more consonant. The …
Read more